Amazing Grace

Amazing grace

How sweet the sound

That saved a wretch like me

I once was lost, but now I’m found

Was blind, but now I see

I was incredibly close with my grandma when I was close. She was one of the few safe people I had in my childhood. I loved going to her house, especially when it was just me and her. She was like the mom I wanted. She knew when I needed to be comforted and when I needed someone to be stern with me. She always wanted what was best for me.

It’s funny that I can hardly recall any good memories from my childhood and even fewer of adults willing to help me and *gasp* stand up against my mom. One of the few instances I remember involves my Aunt Vonda. Honestly all I can remember is being in my aunts basement. Not sure why I was there or how I got there. My mom came to the door demanding to see me and my brother. I don’t know what my aunt said or did. All I know is that my mom left and I felt safe. Saved for at least a short time. Saved. Amazing Grace.

Leave a Reply

