NASA 

I’ve been dating a guy, that I’ll refer to as NASA, for nearly six months now. I think he’s incredible. He’s a year older than me, a single dad of three kiddos, and currently getting his phd in engineering. He’s incredibly sweet, loving, sarcastic, and just wonderful. My therapist had me make a list of qualities I wanted in a partner and I believe that NASA has all those qualities except he’s not outgoing and he has kids. Those qualities are not high on my importance list though. They definitely aren’t deal breakers in any case. 

I love the way I feel and I am with him. He’s told me from the beginning that he thinks I’m amazing, which is definitely something I’m not used to. We have this energy and connection between us that just feels good. The other day we were going somewhere in my car. When I gave him a compliment, I could see the most endearing smile out of the corner of my eye. 

Even though he’s incredibly responsible, he still likes to have fun. Our second date we went on a (spontaneous for me) road trip to Cleveland, OH for an engineering conference. It was a six hour road trip both ways. While we didn’t talk the whole time everything fell into place and felt right as if it was supposed to happen. Things have gotten more difficult with work schedules and custody arrangements. It is still definitely worth the effort.

The best thing he’s done for me is be there when I was in a stressful situation. Lil miss has poor weight gain and was scheduled an MRI to check for some things internally. I thought I was going to be fine but when I got the confirmation call the night before and they gave me the prep information I started to freak out. My daughter was going to be given general anesthesia and be put under so she wouldn’t be too wiggly. I was terrified. NASA works at the same campus as lil miss’ MRI appointment. I asked him if he was going to the hospital since he occasionally does that for his research. He wanted to know when the MRI was. Then he asked when I wanted him to swing by to support me. I told him I didn’t want him to make an extra trip. He firmly told me that’s not what he asked. He wanted to know when he could be there for me. He ended up rearranging his schedule and coming up to the hospital for 10 minutes just to give me a hug and reassure me that everything would be alright. I can’t think of a better gift I’ve ever been given by anyone. I’m starting to think he’s really a keeper. 

Leave a Reply

