Expectations ruin everything

imageI have had so many expectations that have ruined the outcomes. Ruined friendships and contributed to ruining my marriage so I’m trying to eschew all expectations. At work expectations about how others should treat me and how I should be able to do my job.

Others put expectations on me too. What I should be doing. How I should be should be grieving. What I’m doing wrong and what I’m doing right.

The biggest point of contention for others seem to be my love life. People who want me to date or not date. People who want me to have friends with benefits or not. There are lots of opinions about my friendship with sparky. The thing is that I’m happy right now. I’m happier than I ever have been. Sparky and I are just friends and I’m okay with that. He makes me smile. I feel like a school girl when I talk to him or text him and I’m okay with that. For years and years I was living in a fog. Now I’m out of the fog and feel rediculously happy. I don’t want things to be different. Okay maybe a little bit I’d like to date Sparky and be close to him but I am truly okay with things right now. I don’t want to chase endless dreams I want to be happy with now. I don’t want to wait for the storm to end. I want to to learn to dance in the rain.

Leave a Reply

